Australian Ladies Professional Golf
Entries open for Golf Media Awards
Date: 12th July 2013
By: Australian Golf Writers Association

The Australian Golf Media Awards were created for media professionals who cover Australian golf and golfers in the print, internet, radio, television and photography sections of the Australian Media.

Now in their 15th year, the awards has noted golf journalist Mr Peter Stone as its Chair with a panel made up by representatives from Golf Australia, the PGA of Australia and the Australian Ladies Professional Golf Inc. and a noted former journalist and newspaper editor as well.

The presentation to winners of the various categories has now become a centerpiece of the Australian Golf Writers Association annual dinner which is always held on the eve of the final round of the Emirates Australian Open.

This year, the Awards dinner will take place on Saturday 30th November at Royal Sydney Golf Club.

AGWA President Brendan Moloney said he was pleased that the peak golfing bodies had once again shown their support for Australia's golf media by sponsoring the awards.

"We also acknowledge Tourism Ireland which will sponsor the award for the best international travel story on golf by an Australian journalist," he said.

The awards, which showcase the best coverage of golf, are open to all media representatives and not just members of the Australian Golf Writers Association and will be presented for:

Photojournalism - Best Photograph.
Television - Best Feature Story or Report.
Electronic/Media (Internet) -Best Feature Story or Report.
Electronic Media (Radio) – Best Feature Story or Report
Print - Best Feature Story (Newspaper).
Print - Best Report (Newspaper).
Print - Best Feature or Story (Magazine).
Print - Best Feature or Story Amateur Golf.
Print – Best Feature or Report in a newspaper on Women’s Professional Golf.
Print – Best Feature or Report in a magazine on Women’s Professional Golf.
Print - Best Column.
Print - Best Feature Story or report in a trade magazine.
Print - Best International Story. Sponsored by Tourism Ireland. (This must be a golf travel story.)

Entry Process
Awards will be considered for the best coverage in the categories (listed above) published between July 1st 2012 and June 30th 2013. All entries should be submitted electronically via email to:

George Begg, AGWA Honorary Secretary /Treasurer at

Print submission preference: Microsoft Word or PDF; Photojournalism preference: JPEG or PDF.

All entries must be lodged no later than Friday August 16th 2013 and each entry must:

• include a copy of the original article
• include a completed copy of the entry form – accessible here
• clearly nominate the Awards category for which the piece is to be considered.

Any entry not meeting this criteria will not be considered.

Please note: If there is only one entry in any category the judges may decide not to bestow an award in that category.

Forgot Password
About Us Profiles Order of Merit ALPG Clinics Tournaments
Board Members Lounge Money List ALPG Study Tour Next Generation
Staff Membership Rolex Rankings ALPG Travel Teaching Pros
Privacy Policy Site Map Contact Us
Thrax Design