Australian Ladies Professional Golf
Montana Strauss takes out women´s Blitz Golf Curlewis
Date: 4th January 2019

Victorian Montana Strauss took out the women's section of the Blitz Golf Curlewis today, in heatwave conditions at Curlewis Golf Club on Victoria's Bellarine Peninsula.

Teeing off this morning at 9:30am, with the thermometer having already topped the 35-degree mark, twenty ALPG professionals started out the first "blitz" of the day over nine holes, with ten players playing the back nine and the other ten playing the front nine. At the end of the "blitz" it was Kristalle Blum, Tahnia Ravnjak, Ali Orchard, Jess Cowie and Karen Pearce, who were eliminated, while Victorians Adele Huggard and Vicky Uwland advanced after nearest the pin playoff victories over Breanna Gill and Gennai Goodwin, and  Katy Jarochowicz respectively.

In the second "blitz", the remaining twelve players were again split into two sections each playing six holes, and it was the pre-tournament favourites Stacey Peters, Stephanie Na, Whitney Hillier and Charlotte Thomas, along with Uwland and Sydney's Molly Lavercombe who were eliminated leaving just six women remaining in the event.

The third "blitz' saw the remaining six players, Paige Stubbs, Chizuru Ueda, Grace Lennon, Montana Strauss, Adele Huggard and Bree Arthur,  playing a three-hole "blitz" and this time it was Ueda and Stubbs who were eliminated, leaving four players to fight it out to become the first ALPG winner of a Blitz Golf event.

The four remaining ALPG players, along with four celebrities and four PGA professionals who had qualified for the final "blitz" headed off to the 18th hole to decide who would be the Blitz Golf Curlewis champions for 2019.

On the first playoff hole in the women's group local favourite Adele Huggard, playing in just her first event as a professional, and fellow Victorian Montana Strauss both made par 4's at Curlewis's tough finishing hole, while Bree Arthur and Grace Lennon were both eliminated after making bogey 5's.

Huggard and Strauss had ensured a Victorian winner of the women's event and headed back to the 18th tee to decide the winner, and it was the 22 -year-old Strauss who emerged victorious to claim her first professional title in just her third professional event.

Canberra's Matt Millar was the winner of the men's Blitz Golf Curlewis, edging out local favourite Deyen Lawson, Zach Murray and reigning Vic Open champion Simon Hawkes in the final. 

For final results and prizemoney click HERE

Keep an eye out for more news and stories on our website - and follow our social media pages Facebook (ALPG Official), Twitter (@ALPGTour) and Instagram (alpgtour)

Forgot Password
About Us Profiles Order of Merit ALPG Clinics Tournaments
Board Members Lounge Money List ALPG Study Tour Next Generation
Staff Membership Rolex Rankings ALPG Travel Teaching Pros
Privacy Policy Site Map Contact Us
Thrax Design